PVI1 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

PVI1 Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • PVI1 is ETA International's Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1: 75 questions, two hours, 75% required on the knowledge exam.
  • The current exam fee is $155, with one free retake within one year of your first exam session.
  • Hands-on skill demonstrations are separate from the 75-question count and must be completed through an ETA-approved trainer or school.
  • Eight unweighted competency categories drive the exam; ETA publishes no percentages, so study all eight.

Confirm You Are Studying the Right PVI1

This one-page review covers a single credential: Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1 (PVI1), issued by ETA International (Electronics Technicians Association, International). It is not the separate Photovoltaic Installer/Designer (PV2) credential, and it is not the NABCEP PV Associate or any other certification that happens to share an acronym. If a study resource mentions requirements such as CSS, OSHA 10, or a 60-hour verified training minimum, that is PV2 material and does not apply here.

If you are brand new to the credential, start with What Is PVI1 Certification? for the background, then return to this sheet for the facts you need to retain. When you are ready to test your recall, the PVI1 practice test site offers original, competency-aligned questions.

The Exam at a Glance

These are the figures most candidates need on a single card. Every number below comes from ETA's published PVI1 information and its posted certification catalog.

ItemPVI1 Fact
IssuerETA International
Knowledge exam length75 questions
Time allowedTwo hours
Passing score75% on the knowledge exam
Practical componentHands-on skill demonstrations (competency required; no separate numeric cut score verified)
Exam fee$155
RetakeOne free retake within one year of the first exam session
Credential termFour years, with maintenance
Competency documentEight-page PVI1 Competency Requirements, copyright 2022

Two caveats matter. First, ETA does not disclose how many of the 75 questions are scored versus unscored, so do not assume a number. Second, ETA's current materials do not spell out a question-style breakdown, an adaptive-delivery rule, or a practical scoring rubric. Treat any site that claims a precise item mix as unverified. For a deeper look at the cut score, see PVI1 Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Count the 75 correctly: The 75-question, two-hour figure describes only the knowledge examination. The hands-on skill demonstrations are separate, and ETA does not publish a separate time limit for them. Do not budget your two hours around practical tasks.

Eligibility and Hands-On Snapshot

PVI1 is built around the idea that an installer must show skills, not just recall facts. ETA's current page requires hands-on training from an ETA-approved trainer or school. The competency PDF indicates that practical skills are demonstrated before you sit the knowledge examination. It also allows ETA to review proof of prior job experience in lieu of trainer-taught skills, but that is a discretionary review by the issuer, not an automatic experience waiver.

What is not required

  • No CETa prerequisite. PVI1 is a Stand-Alone certification under ETA's general rule, so the Associate CETa is not required.
  • No universal training-hour minimum. Partner courses advertise 40, 45, 46, or 60 hours, but those are provider-specific course lengths, not issuer-wide requirements.
  • No verified universal degree, age, or reference-count rule in current issuer material.

An older Florida Department of Education funding record describes a 12-month on-the-job route, but that is historical wording and should not be treated as a current universal rule. For the full qualification picture, read PVI1 Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and for the training side, see PVI1 Training.

The Money Sheet: Fees and Price Conflicts

The exam fee is the anchor number: $155. ETA publishes no member versus non-member split for the exam. Training and study materials are separate unless a particular provider bundles them.

Cost ItemWhat the Sources Show
PVI1 exam fee$155 (issuer figure)
Free retakeOne, within one year of the first exam session
eITprep study guideListed at $74.95 for six months on the exact PVI1 product page; ETA's referral text advertises $59.95. Public price conflict unresolved
Solar PV Training online course$199 for the legacy residential course; excludes the hands-on lab and the exam
Eastern West Virginia program$599 on an undated page marked 2025-2026 and subject to change; a linked 2023 flyer still shows $400 adult tuition
ETA partner-course discount$50 member discount on the Solar PV Training course, not on the exam
Remote proctoring (if eligible)$16 for a two-hour ExamRoom.AI session; PVI1 eligibility not confirmed
Price conflicts are not fee changes: The disagreement between $59.95 and $74.95 for the eITprep guide does not alter the $155 exam fee. Check the provider's checkout page for the price you will actually pay, and verify any course fee directly with the school before enrolling.

For the complete budget view, including how to plan around the free retake, see PVI1 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

The Eight Competency Categories in One Page

ETA's PVI1 Competency Requirements document lists eight numbered categories, and ETA states that certification examination questions are derived from the corresponding competencies. No percentage weights are published, so there is no officially "largest" domain. The list below uses the exact category names. For a longer treatment of each one, see PVI1 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.

Domain 1: History and Background of Renewable Energy

Context for why solar exists in the broader energy picture.

  • Know the general role of photovoltaics among renewable sources
  • Be able to explain basic background concepts in plain terms

Domain 2: Photovoltaics Terminology

The vocabulary that every other domain relies on.

  • Cell, module, string, and array relationships
  • Electrical terms such as voltage, current, power, and energy, and how they differ
  • System-type language you will see on job sites and in documentation

Domain 3: Installation and Safety

The category closest to the hands-on skill demonstrations.

  • Safe work practices around electrical hazards and working at height
  • Proper handling, mounting, and wiring practices for PV equipment
  • Personal protective equipment and job-site awareness

Domain 4: Codes and Standards

Rules that govern how systems may be installed.

  • Understand that the competency PDF mixes older code references, including NEC 2017 and a 2020 NEC study resource
  • No single current NEC edition is established for the exam, so learn the reasoning behind the rules and confirm edition details with ETA

Domain 5: Theory of Operation

How a PV system actually converts and delivers power.

  • How cells generate electricity and what affects output
  • How major system components work together

Domain 6: Applied Calculations and Formulas

Where arithmetic meets system design.

  • Series and parallel relationships for voltage and current
  • Power, energy, and unit conversions
  • Reading a problem carefully before choosing a formula

Domain 7: Estimating Home Energy Needs

Sizing a system starts with understanding the load.

  • Working from household usage toward a system estimate
  • Connecting loads, usage time, and energy totals

Domain 8: Project Management

The business and coordination side of an install.

  • Planning, sequencing, and communicating on a residential project
  • Note: at least one third-party comparison table claims Level 1 has no project management, which contradicts category 8 in ETA's own PDF. Trust the issuer document

Formulas and Calculation Habits to Memorize

ETA's published formula-sheet authorization names other exams, not PVI1, and open-book permission is not verified. Plan to carry the core relationships in your head. The fundamentals that underpin Domains 5, 6, and 7 are standard electrical relationships rather than anything unique to ETA:

  • Power = voltage x current. The relationship behind nearly every sizing question.
  • Series strings add voltage; parallel connections add current. Know which quantity stays constant in each arrangement.
  • Energy = power x time. This is the bridge between a module's rating and a household's monthly usage.
  • Unit discipline: watts versus kilowatts, watt-hours versus kilowatt-hours. Many wrong answers come from a unit slip, not a concept gap.

Key Takeaway

Domains 6 and 7 reward habits more than memorization. Write the units next to every number as you work, and sanity-check each answer against a rough estimate before moving on. A calculator speeds the arithmetic but does not catch a misread question.

Because ETA says nothing about question weighting, avoid the temptation to over-invest in math at the expense of Domain 3 and Domain 4. For a candid read on how demanding the content feels, see How Hard Is the PVI1 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Test-Day Rules and Remote-Testing Caution

ETA's general administration rules apply. Bring photo identification. Scratch paper may be provided and surrendered afterward. A non-programmable or scientific calculator is permitted, and programmable calculators may need to be reset. Phones and other electronic devices are prohibited.

ETA's general system offers Trapeza online testing and paper-and-pencil delivery, administered through ETA Certification Administrators. No Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric provider was identified for PVI1.

Do not promise yourself a fully remote path: ETA's test-sites page offers ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring for non-hands-on certifications, while its FAQ discusses remote candidates still attending an approved school for hands-on credentials. PVI1 includes hands-on demonstrations, and PVI1 remote eligibility is not confirmed. Contact ETA to confirm what applies to your knowledge test before you schedule. Self-study partner courses explicitly do not replace certification requirements.

For scheduling mechanics and timing, see PVI1 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Four-Year Term and Maintenance

PVI1 carries a four-year term with maintenance required. Because PVI1 involves hands-on skills, use ETA's Maintenance with Hands-On track:

  • Six continuing-education hours per year (24 hours across four years)
  • A supervisor-signed Employer Verification Form
  • A Certification Maintenance Form
  • $25 per year, or $100 over the four-year cycle

Do not substitute the non-hands-on alternative of ten education hours or employer verification; that track does not apply to this credential. Keep records of your hours and employer signatures as you go, because the supervisor verification is easiest to collect while your project work is fresh.

Pay Context and the NABCEP Comparison

The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2025 median pay of $53,140 per year ($25.55 per hour) for solar photovoltaic installers. This is occupation-wide pay. It is not PVI1-certified earnings, starting pay, or a measured certification premium, and no source here supports a specific raise from holding PVI1. For a fuller treatment, read PVI1 Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the PVI1 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026. If you are scanning openings, PVI1 Jobs covers where the credential shows up.

When comparing credentials, keep the scope precise. The NABCEP comparison in this article series concerns the PV Associate program specifically, not NABCEP's PV Installation Professional credential. The two programs are run by different bodies with different eligibility, so do not carry one's requirements over to the other. PVI1's own gate is ETA-approved hands-on training plus the 75-question knowledge exam.

A Domain-Ordered Review Schedule

With no published domain weights, the sensible approach is to build vocabulary first, then safety and codes, then calculations, so each layer supports the next. Here is one ordering tied to the eight categories. For a broader plan, see the PVI1 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Week 1

Vocabulary and Context

  • Domain 2 (Photovoltaics Terminology) first, since every later domain uses its terms
  • Domain 1 (History and Background) as light reading alongside
Week 2

Safety, Installation, and Codes

  • Domain 3 (Installation and Safety), paired with your hands-on practice
  • Domain 4 (Codes and Standards), focusing on intent and reasoning given the mixed edition references
Week 3

Theory and Math

  • Domain 5 (Theory of Operation) before Domain 6, so formulas have meaning
  • Domain 6 (Applied Calculations and Formulas) with units written on every line
Week 4

Sizing, Planning, and Timed Practice

Cheat Sheet FAQ

How many questions are on the PVI1 knowledge exam?

The knowledge exam has 75 questions with a two-hour limit, and you need 75% to pass. ETA does not disclose a scored versus unscored split, and the hands-on skill demonstrations are not part of the 75-question count.

What does the PVI1 exam cost, and is a retake free?

The current issuer exam fee is $155, with no published member or non-member split. One free retake is available within one year of your first exam session. Study courses and guides are separate costs.

Is there an official PVI1 pass rate?

No reliable current pass-rate series was located, and no cohort or year data is published in the sources reviewed. Be skeptical of any specific percentage you see online. The page PVI1 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said.

Do I need a set number of training hours before testing?

No universal minimum training-hour count was verified from current ETA material. ETA requires hands-on training from an approved trainer or school, and may review prior job experience at its discretion. Course lengths of 40, 45, 46, or 60 hours are provider-specific, not issuer-wide rules.

Can I take the whole PVI1 certification remotely?

Do not assume so. Because PVI1 includes hands-on skill demonstrations through an approved trainer or school, a wholly remote path is not confirmed. ETA's remote proctoring is described for non-hands-on certifications, so confirm your exact knowledge-test eligibility with ETA first.

That is the full sheet: one exam, eight categories, $155, 75 questions, two hours, and 75% to pass, backed by hands-on skills and a four-year maintenance cycle. For definitions and background, see What Does PVI1 Stand For? and revisit the PVI1 Cheat Sheet before exam week as a final check.

Ready to pass your PVI1 exam?

Put this into practice with free PVI1 questions across every exam domain.