PVI1 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

PVI1 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • The PVI1 knowledge exam has 75 questions in two hours; you need 75% to pass, plus hands-on competency.
  • ETA publishes eight unweighted competency categories, so study every domain rather than guessing a heavy one.
  • The exam fee is $155, and one free retake is available within one year of your first session.
  • Hands-on skills are demonstrated through an ETA-approved trainer or school before you sit the knowledge exam.

What You're Actually Studying For

The Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1 (PVI1) is an entry-level solar credential administered by ETA International (Electronics Technicians Association, International). It combines a written knowledge examination with a hands-on skill demonstration. It is not the same thing as ETA's separate Photovoltaic Installer/Designer (PV2) credential, and it is not a NABCEP credential, so be careful when reading forum threads or course listings that blur those lines. If you want the definitional background first, start with What Is PVI1 Certification? and come back here.

The single most useful document for your preparation is ETA's own Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1 (PVI1) Competency Requirements, an eight-page PDF bearing a 2022 copyright. ETA states that certification examination questions are derived from the corresponding competencies. That means your study plan should be built from that document, not from a generic solar textbook table of contents. Treat each numbered objective as a question you should be able to answer cold.

Read the competency PDF first: Before buying anything, download the issuer's competency requirements and read all eight pages. Mark every objective you cannot explain in your own words. That marked-up copy becomes your personal study map and keeps you from spending money on material that doesn't map to the exam.

Exam Mechanics: Format, Fee, and Score

Knowing the logistics removes a lot of avoidable anxiety. Here is what the issuer publishes for the knowledge examination, along with what it does not publish.

ItemWhat ETA publishes
Knowledge exam length75 questions
Time allowedTwo hours
Passing score75% on the knowledge exam; hands-on competency also required
Exam fee$155 (no member/non-member split published)
Retake policyOne free retake within one year of the first exam session
Credential termFour years, with maintenance required
Domain weightingNot published; eight unweighted categories
Pass rateNo reliable current figure located

A few honest caveats. ETA does not disclose how many of the 75 questions are scored versus unscored, and it does not publish a numerical cut score for the practical demonstration. Delivery is through ETA Certification Administrators, and ETA's general system offers online testing through Trapeza as well as paper-and-pencil delivery. Whether open-book or adaptive delivery applies to PVI1 has not been confirmed, so do not assume either. For a deeper dive on what 75% means in practice, see PVI1 Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and for the data question, PVI1 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

On a 75-question test, 75% works out to answering at least 57 questions correctly (56.25 rounds up). That gives you a practical margin of 18 misses. Two hours across 75 questions averages out to well over a minute per question, so time pressure is rarely the problem for a prepared candidate; knowledge gaps and careless math are.

The Hands-On Path Before You Sit the Exam

This is the part of PVI1 that surprises people who expect a pure test-center credential. ETA's current requirement is hands-on training from an ETA-approved trainer or school. The competency PDF indicates that practical skills are demonstrated before you sit the knowledge examination. ETA may also review proof from prior job experience in lieu of trainer-taught skills, but that is a discretionary review by the issuer, not an automatic experience waiver. Do not plan around it unless ETA confirms it for your situation.

  • PVI1 is a stand-alone credential, so the CETa is not required under ETA's general rule.
  • No universal minimum number of training hours has been verified. Partner courses advertise 40, 45, 46, or 60 hours, but those are provider-specific figures, not issuer requirements.
  • Requirements that apply to PV2, such as OSHA 10 and a set number of verified training hours, do not apply to PVI1.
  • Self-study and online-only courses explicitly do not replace the certification requirements.

Remote testing deserves a careful note. ETA's test-sites page offers ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring for non-hands-on certifications, and the FAQ discusses remote candidates still attending an approved school for hands-on credentials. Eligibility of the PVI1 knowledge test for remote proctoring is not confirmed, so contact ETA or your approved school before assuming you can test from home. For the full eligibility picture, read PVI1 Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and for training specifics see PVI1 Training.

The Eight Competency Categories, Decoded

ETA lists eight numbered competency categories and does not publish weights. Because no domain is officially "the biggest," a first-attempt strategy has to be balanced: no category can be skipped. The notes below describe what each category asks of you. For a longer walkthrough, see PVI1 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.

Domain 1: History and Background of Renewable Energy

The context layer. Expect questions that test whether you understand where photovoltaics fits among renewable sources and how the technology developed.

  • Be able to distinguish solar PV from other renewable technologies
  • Know the basic reasons PV adoption has grown
  • Treat this as a quick-win domain: low math, mostly recall

Domain 2: Photovoltaics Terminology

Vocabulary is the foundation of every other domain. If you cannot define the terms, you will misread the questions in Domains 3 through 7.

  • Build a glossary of cell, module, string, array, inverter, and balance-of-system terms
  • Know the difference between similar-sounding terms (for example, voltage versus current quantities and how they are rated)
  • Practice reading a term and recalling both definition and typical context

Domain 3: Installation and Safety

Since this credential includes a hands-on component, safety and installation practice carry real weight in both the written and practical portions.

  • Fall protection, electrical hazard awareness, and safe work practices on roofs
  • Mounting, racking, wiring, and component-handling fundamentals
  • Connect what you learned in your hands-on training to the written objectives

Domain 4: Codes and Standards

The competency PDF references older code editions, and a single current NEC edition has not been verified for the exam. That makes this domain one to study by concept, not by memorizing article numbers from one specific edition.

  • Understand why codes exist and how they govern PV system installation
  • Know the general role of the National Electrical Code and related standards
  • Confirm with your trainer which code references your course emphasizes

Domain 5: Theory of Operation

How a PV system actually converts sunlight into usable electricity, and how grid-tied and stand-alone systems differ conceptually.

  • Photovoltaic effect at a conceptual level
  • How modules, charge components, inverters, and storage interact
  • Factors that affect output, such as shading, temperature, and orientation

Domain 6: Applied Calculations and Formulas

The domain most candidates fear and the one where disciplined practice pays off fastest. Covered in detail in the next section.

Domain 7: Estimating Home Energy Needs

Translating a household's usage into a system sizing conversation.

  • Reading energy usage and understanding load
  • Relating daily or monthly consumption to system capacity
  • Understanding why estimates are approximations, not guarantees

Domain 8: Project Management

ETA's linked competency document includes project management as category 8, even though some third-party comparison tables claim there is none at Level 1. Trust the issuer's document over the secondhand table.

  • Sequencing, scheduling, and coordinating an installation
  • Documentation, communication, and working with others on a job
  • Often underestimated, so do not leave it for the final night

Where Candidates Lose Points: The Math Domains

Domains 6 and 7 are where preparation separates passing from failing, because errors here are mechanical and preventable. A few habits help specifically for PVI1.

  • Learn the core relationships until they are automatic. Power, voltage, current, and energy relationships should be second nature. Practice rearranging each formula to solve for any variable.
  • Always track units. Watts versus kilowatts and watt-hours versus kilowatt-hours are classic trap pairs. Write the unit next to every number.
  • Practice series and parallel reasoning. Be able to explain, not just compute, how voltage and current behave in each arrangement.
  • Sanity-check every answer. If a calculated household system size seems absurdly large or small, recheck the setup before moving on.

For test day, ETA's general rules permit a non-programmable or scientific calculator, and a programmable calculator may need to be reset. Practice with the same kind of calculator you will bring so that no button layout surprises you. Phones and other electronic devices are prohibited, and the published formula-sheet authorization names other exams, not PVI1, so do not count on being handed a formula sheet. Memorize your key formulas.

Write your own problems: Take a household's hypothetical daily usage and walk it through to a rough system-size estimate, then reverse the steps. Original, self-made practice items tied to the competency list are more reliable than unverified question dumps, which may not reflect the real exam format or content.

A Domain-Ordered Study Sequence

Generic scheduling advice is everywhere, so here is a sequence built around PVI1's structure instead. The logic: vocabulary first, because every later domain depends on it; math early and repeatedly, because it rewards repetition; context and management last, because they are recall-based and consolidate easily. Adjust the timeline to fit your hands-on course schedule.

Week 1

Terminology and Competency Map

  • Read the full competency PDF and mark gaps
  • Build a glossary for Domain 2 and start flashcards
  • Skim Domain 1 for background
Week 2

Theory of Operation and Safety

  • Study Domain 5 concepts until you can explain them aloud
  • Pair Domain 3 reading with what you practiced hands-on
Week 3

Calculations and Energy Estimation

  • Drill Domain 6 formulas daily with unit tracking
  • Work Domain 7 household-sizing problems end to end
Week 4

Codes, Project Management, and Review

  • Cover Domain 4 by concept and Domain 8 documentation and sequencing
  • Revisit every domain you marked weak in Week 1
  • Take timed practice sets under two-hour conditions

If you only have two weeks, compress by keeping the order but doubling the daily load, and protect your calculation practice above everything else. If you have more time, spend the extra weeks on additional math repetition rather than rereading narrative material. For a sense of how demanding the test is relative to your background, see How Hard Is the PVI1 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Choosing Resources Without Overpaying

Your required spend is the $155 exam fee plus whatever hands-on training your approved trainer or school charges. Everything else is optional study support. Prices below come from public provider pages and vary, so verify before buying.

ResourceListed price and notes
ETA exam fee$155; one free retake within one year of first session
eITprep PVI1 self-studyETA advertises $59.95 for six months, but eITprep's PVI1 listing shows $74.95 for six months; this public price conflict is unresolved, so check the current listing
Solar PV Training online course$199 for the Residential Solar Installation & Design Online (Legacy) course; excludes the hands-on lab and exam
Community college program (example)One provider lists $599 for 2025-2026, subject to change; its older flyer showed $400. Provider-specific, not issuer-wide

The pattern to notice: self-study products and online courses do not satisfy the hands-on requirement on their own. Pick a hands-on provider that is ETA-approved, then add inexpensive self-study only where you have identified gaps. For the full pricing picture, including what is and is not bundled, read PVI1 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

When you want original practice that follows the eight competency categories, use the question sets on the PVI1 Exam Prep practice test site. These are original items aligned to the competencies, not actual exam questions, which is exactly what you want for honest self-assessment.

Exam-Day Logistics

  • Bring valid photo identification. ETA's general rules require it.
  • Expect scratch paper. It may need to be surrendered afterward, so do not plan to keep it.
  • Leave electronics out of reach. Phones and other devices are prohibited.
  • Confirm your testing method. Ask your approved school whether your knowledge exam is delivered online or on paper, and whether remote proctoring is available for PVI1 specifically.
  • Pace yourself. Two hours for 75 questions leaves room to flag hard items and return. Answer the sure ones first and bank the points.

Scheduling windows and deadlines are handled through your test site or approved school; see PVI1 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for how to plan around them.

Key Takeaway

Because the knowledge exam and the hands-on demonstration are separate hurdles, plan them together. Schedule your hands-on training so that the practical skills are fresh while you study Domains 3 and 5, then sit the knowledge exam while the material is still vivid. A free retake exists, but a first-attempt pass saves time and momentum.

After You Pass: Maintenance and Career Context

The credential runs on a four-year term. For the hands-on maintenance track, ETA requires six continuing-education hours per year (24 over the four years), a supervisor-signed Employer Verification Form, a Certification Maintenance Form, and $25 per year ($100 across the cycle). Keep records of your continuing education from the first year so that renewal is not a scramble.

On the career side, be realistic about what the data does and does not say. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2025 median pay of $53,140 per year ($25.55 per hour) for solar photovoltaic installers. That figure covers the whole occupation, not PVI1 holders specifically, and it does not measure a certification premium or starting pay. If you are weighing the investment, PVI1 Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the PVI1 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 unpack this further, and PVI1 Jobs covers where entry-level installers tend to find work.

Some candidates also compare this credential with the NABCEP PV Associate. Those are different credentials from different bodies, and the right choice depends on your local employers and goals; do not assume one substitutes for the other.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the PVI1 knowledge exam?

The knowledge exam has 75 questions and a two-hour time limit. ETA does not disclose a scored versus unscored split. The separate hands-on skill demonstrations are not part of that 75-question count.

What score do I need to pass?

You need 75% on the knowledge examination, and hands-on competency is also required. ETA has not published a separate numerical cut score for the practical portion.

How much does the exam cost, and can I retake it?

The current issuer examination fee is $155, with no member and non-member split published. One free retake is available within one year of your first exam session. Training and study materials are separate costs unless a provider bundles them.

Do I have to take a hands-on course?

ETA requires hands-on training from an approved trainer or school. The issuer may review proof of prior job experience in lieu of trainer-taught skills, but that is a discretionary review rather than an automatic waiver. Confirm your situation directly with ETA.

Which domain should I study hardest?

ETA publishes eight unweighted categories and no percentages, so no domain is officially largest. Most candidates benefit from extra repetition in Applied Calculations and Formulas, but cover all eight, since any category can appear on the exam.

Ready to pass your PVI1 exam?

Put this into practice with free PVI1 questions across every exam domain.