- The Short Answer: No Published Pass Rate Exists
- What You Can Actually Measure
- Why a Reliable Pass Rate Is Hard to Build
- Two Hurdles: Knowledge Exam and Hands-On Competency
- How to Spot Fake Pass-Rate Claims
- Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
- A Readiness Plan Built Around the Eight Competency Areas
- Fees, the Free Retake, and What a Miss Really Costs
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No cohort, year or reliable current pass-rate series for Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1 (PVI1) has been located.
- The knowledge exam has 75 questions, a two-hour limit and a 75% passing standard.
- Hands-on competency is also required, but no separate numerical practical cut score was verified.
- One free retake is available within one year of your first exam session.
The Short Answer: No Published Pass Rate Exists
If you searched for the PVI1 pass rate hoping for a tidy percentage, here is the honest result: ETA International, the governing body for Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1, does not publish one in any material we could verify. We found no cohort, no year-by-year series and no current candidate pass-rate figure from the issuer's certification page, its competency requirements document or its certification catalog.
That matters because this topic attracts invented numbers. A page that tells you "the PVI1 pass rate is 70%" or "only 40% pass the first time" has either confused PVI1 with a different credential or made the figure up. On this site we will not do either. What follows is a clear account of what is known, what is not, and how to use the facts that do exist to judge your own readiness.
What You Can Actually Measure
Although the pass rate is unpublished, the structure of the exam is not. These are the verified facts for Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1:
| Item | Verified detail |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | ETA International (Electronics Technicians Association, International) |
| Knowledge exam length | 75 questions; the issuer does not disclose a scored/unscored split |
| Time allowed | Two hours for the knowledge examination |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge examination |
| Practical component | Hands-on skill demonstrations are required; no separate numerical cut score verified |
| Exam fee | $155 current issuer examination fee |
| Retake policy | One free retake within one year of the first exam session |
| Credential term | Four years, with maintenance required |
Take the 75% standard as a working example. On a 75-question exam, 75% corresponds to 56.25 correct answers, so in practice you need at least 57 right if every question counts. But because the issuer does not disclose whether some questions are unscored, treat that arithmetic as a planning estimate rather than a guarantee of how scoring is applied. For more on the scoring standard, read PVI1 Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Why a Reliable Pass Rate Is Hard to Build
Even if someone handed you a number, there are structural reasons to treat it cautiously. PVI1 is not delivered through a single national testing chain with centralized public reporting. ETA works through ETA Certification Administrators and approved trainers or schools, and the hands-on portion is tied to those trainers or schools. That means outcomes are spread across many small groups: a community college workforce cohort, an employer training program, a high-school career program, an individual candidate sitting after a self-study course.
Those groups are not alike. A cohort that completes supervised hands-on training and then sits the knowledge exam is a very different population from a group of unprepared walk-ins. Blending them into one percentage would say little about your own odds. A pass rate is only meaningful when you know who was counted, in what year, on which form and under what conditions, and none of that is available for PVI1.
Two Hurdles: Knowledge Exam and Hands-On Competency
Many people picture certification as one test, so they assume one pass rate describes it. PVI1 does not work that way. You have to clear two different things:
- The knowledge examination: 75 questions, two hours, 75% to pass.
- Hands-on competency: skill demonstrations delivered through an ETA-approved trainer or school.
The competency requirements document says practical skills are demonstrated before sitting the knowledge examination, and it notes that ETA may review proof from prior job experience in lieu of trainer-taught skills. That is a discretionary issuer review, not an automatic experience waiver, so do not assume your field time exempts you. Confirm with ETA before you plan around it. Our guide to PVI1 Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify walks through the qualification path in detail.
A pass-rate headline that ignores the practical side tells you only half the story. And because no numerical cut score for the practical component was verified, nobody can honestly quote a combined success percentage.
How to Spot Fake Pass-Rate Claims
When you run into a PVI1 pass-rate figure online, run it through these checks:
- Does it name a source? A real figure points to ETA or to a government record with a year and a cohort. A vague "industry average" does not count.
- Is it about the right credential? Several credentials share similar shorthand. A statistic that quietly belongs to a different certification does not describe ETA's Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1.
- Is it attached to a product? Marketplace practice-exam listings and course sales pages often cite success claims. Marketplace practice-question format and content do not prove what the official exam looks like, and they are not issuer data.
- Does it blur the two hurdles? Any single percentage that does not say whether it covers the knowledge exam, the hands-on demonstration or both should be set aside.
Key Takeaway
Replace "What percentage pass?" with "Can I consistently score above 75% on original practice material tied to all eight competency categories, and can I perform the hands-on tasks?" That question has an answer you can test yourself on.
Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
ETA states that certification examination questions are derived from the corresponding competencies in its Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1 (PVI1) Competency Requirements document. That document lists eight numbered categories. ETA does not publish percentage weights, so no domain can be honestly called "the biggest." What we can do is describe what each category asks of you and where preparation tends to be uneven. This is editorial judgment, not measured failure data. For a fuller walkthrough, see PVI1 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.
Domains 1 and 2: History and Background of Renewable Energy; Photovoltaics Terminology
These are vocabulary-heavy areas. Candidates with field experience sometimes underprepare here because the words feel familiar, yet exam wording can be precise.
- Know the standard terms for cells, modules, arrays, strings, inverters and balance-of-system components.
- Be able to place renewable energy developments in context without memorizing trivia you cannot connect to installation work.
Domain 3: Installation and Safety
This is where knowledge and the hands-on demonstration meet. Safety reasoning on a knowledge exam is often scenario-flavored, asking what you should do or check before you do it.
- Understand hazards specific to working with energized PV sources, including that modules produce power whenever light reaches them.
- Link each safety concept to the practical task where you would apply it.
Domain 4: Codes and Standards
This is a likely trouble spot for a specific reason. ETA's competency PDF mixes older code and reference editions, including NEC 2017 references and a 2020 NEC study resource, and no single current NEC exam edition has been verified.
- Learn the underlying code concepts rather than memorizing section numbers from only one edition.
- Ask your trainer which edition your course teaches, and verify any edition-specific detail before relying on it.
Domains 5 and 6: Theory of Operation; Applied Calculations and Formulas
Candidates who are strong with tools but out of practice with algebra tend to feel pressure here. Calculations are where a two-hour limit can start to matter.
- Practice voltage, current, power and energy relationships until they are automatic.
- Remember that general ETA testing rules permit a non-programmable or scientific calculator, and programmable calculators may need to be reset. Phones and other electronic devices are prohibited.
- The published formula-sheet authorization names other ETA exams, not PVI1, so do not plan on a supplied formula sheet.
Domains 7 and 8: Estimating Home Energy Needs; Project Management
These are the categories newer installers most often treat as afterthoughts. Yet Project Management is a numbered category in ETA's own document, so it belongs in your study plan. One third-party comparison table claims there is no Level 1 project management; ETA's linked competency PDF says otherwise, and the issuer document is the one to trust.
- Practice turning a household's usage into a sizing logic you can explain step by step.
- Be ready to reason about scheduling, coordination and documentation at a Level 1 depth.
A Readiness Plan Built Around the Eight Competency Areas
Because there is no pass-rate benchmark, your best proxy for readiness is your own performance on original practice material aligned to the competencies. Here is one way to sequence an eight-week plan around PVI1's structure. Adjust it to your trainer's course schedule. The ordering reflects dependencies: calculations and theory rest on terminology, and estimating rests on calculations.
Vocabulary and context (Domains 1, 2)
- Build a glossary of PV terms you can define in your own words.
- Pair each term with the hardware it names, ideally from your hands-on training.
Safety, installation and codes (Domains 3, 4)
- Walk through an installation sequence and note the hazard and code question at each step.
- Flag every code reference that depends on an edition and confirm what your course uses.
Theory and math (Domains 5, 6)
- Work calculation problems untimed first, then under a two-hour pace across a full set.
- Practice with the type of calculator you will be allowed to bring.
Estimating, project management and full review (Domains 7, 8)
- Complete a household energy estimate from scratch and explain each assumption.
- Take full-length original practice sets and review every miss against its competency category.
When your practice scores sit comfortably above 75% across all eight areas, not just your strongest ones, you have a defensible readiness signal. You can find practice material on the main PVI1 practice test site, and a deeper schedule in PVI1 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. For a quick last-pass review, the PVI1 Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts condenses the essentials.
Fees, the Free Retake, and What a Miss Really Costs
Candidates fixate on pass rates partly because they want to know how risky the $155 exam fee is. The retake policy softens that risk considerably. ETA offers one free retake within one year of the first exam session. So a first-attempt miss does not automatically mean paying the exam fee twice, provided you retest inside that window.
Training costs are a separate matter and vary by provider. A few verified examples show the spread, and none is an issuer-wide fee:
- Solar PV Training's linked Residential Solar Installation & Design Online (Legacy) Course is listed at $199, and it excludes the hands-on lab and the exam.
- Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College's undated program page lists $599 for 2025-2026, subject to change, while its linked 2023 flyer still shows $400 adult tuition.
- On eITprep's exact PVI1 listing, the study guide shows $74.95 for six months, while ETA's referral text advertises $59.95. This is an unresolved public price conflict, so check the current price at the point of purchase.
Self-study courses do not replace the certification requirements, which include hands-on training through an ETA-approved trainer or school. Budget for both. A full cost picture is in PVI1 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
On the return side, BLS reports a May 2025 median of $53,140 per year ($25.55 per hour) for solar photovoltaic installers. That is occupation-wide pay, not a measure of what PVI1-certified installers earn, so it cannot tell you the value of the credential on its own. If you are weighing the decision, see Is the PVI1 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and PVI1 Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
Key Takeaway
The real risk on exam day is not a hidden failure statistic. It is arriving with uneven preparation across the eight competency areas. With a free retake available inside one year, a smart plan treats the first attempt as a serious try and the retake as a safety net, not a strategy.
Frequently Asked Questions
No cohort, year or reliable current candidate pass-rate series was located for Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1. ETA International does not publish one in the materials we reviewed, so any specific percentage you see should be treated as unverified.
The standard is 75% on the 75-question knowledge examination, which you have two hours to complete. Hands-on competency is also required, and no separate numerical practical cut score was verified.
Yes. ETA offers one free retake within one year of your first exam session. After that, you should confirm current retest fees directly with ETA or your test administrator.
Not automatically. The issuer page requires hands-on training from an ETA-approved trainer or school, and the competency document says ETA may review proof of prior job experience in lieu of trainer-taught skills. That is discretionary review, so confirm with ETA before assuming an exemption. See PVI1 Requirements 2026 for the details.
ETA does not publish domain weights or difficulty data, so no domain can be named hardest with evidence. Codes and Standards and Applied Calculations and Formulas are common areas to double-check because of mixed code editions and time pressure, but that is editorial judgment, not measured results. Our domains guide covers all eight areas.