- What the PVI1 Credential Actually Is
- Who Issues It and How It Is Delivered
- The Knowledge Exam at a Glance
- The Eight Competency Categories
- The Hands-On Half of Certification
- What It Costs and What Is Separate
- PVI1 vs. PV2 and NABCEP PV Associate
- Four-Year Term and Maintenance
- Career Value and Salary Context
- A PVI1-Specific Prep Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- PVI1 means Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1, an entry-level solar credential issued by ETA International.
- The knowledge exam has 75 questions in two hours; the passing score is 75%.
- Certification also requires hands-on skill demonstrations through an ETA-approved trainer or school.
- The issuer exam fee is $155, with one free retake within one year of the first session.
What the PVI1 Credential Actually Is
PVI1 is the abbreviation for Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1, a certification governed by ETA International (the Electronics Technicians Association, International). It is an entry-level credential aimed at people who install solar photovoltaic systems or want documented proof that they understand the fundamentals of doing so safely and correctly.
Because the acronym is reused elsewhere, it is worth being precise. This article covers only the ETA International solar installer credential. If you are looking for quick definitions of the term itself, our short explainers on what PVI1 stands for and the meaning of PVI1 cover the naming question, while this guide goes deeper into how the certification works end to end.
PVI1 is also a distinct credential from ETA's separate Photovoltaic Installer/Designer certification (PV2). The two have different requirements, and nothing in this article should be read as describing PV2.
Who Issues It and How It Is Delivered
ETA International sets the competencies, the passing standard and the certification term. Testing is administered through ETA Certification Administrators, and ETA's general administration system offers both online testing through Trapeza and paper-and-pencil delivery. No third-party testing network such as Pearson VUE, PSI or Prometric was identified for this credential.
Hands-on training and skill demonstrations run through an ETA-approved trainer or school. That detail matters more than it first appears, because it means PVI1 is not a credential you can earn purely from a laptop at home. The current issuer page requires hands-on training from an approved provider, and the competency document says practical skills are demonstrated before a candidate sits the knowledge examination.
The Knowledge Exam at a Glance
The written portion is a 75-question knowledge examination with a two-hour time limit. The passing score is 75%. ETA does not disclose how many items, if any, are unscored, and it does not publish percentage weights for the content areas, so be skeptical of any site that claims to know the exact blueprint.
| Element | What ETA Publishes |
|---|---|
| Knowledge exam length | 75 questions |
| Time limit | Two hours |
| Passing score | 75% on the knowledge exam |
| Hands-on component | Required; no separate numerical practical cut score verified |
| Exam fee | $155 |
| Retake | One free retake within one year of the first exam session |
| Domain weights | Not published |
| Pass rate | No reliable current figure located |
The issuer does not state a question format in its current materials. A historical Florida Department of Education record describes 75 multiple-choice questions, but that is an older government listing rather than a current ETA item specification, so treat the format as unconfirmed. For a closer look at the numeric threshold, see our breakdown of the PVI1 passing score, and for what is and is not known about outcomes, see what the data shows on the PVI1 pass rate.
The Eight Competency Categories
ETA publishes the PVI1 content as eight numbered competency categories in its Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1 (PVI1) Competency Requirements document (copyright 2022, eight pages). ETA states that certification examination questions are derived from these competencies. The categories are unweighted, so no domain is officially "the biggest." The sections below describe what each one covers and why it matters on a job site. For the full walkthrough, see our guide to all eight PVI1 content areas.
Domain 1: History and Background of Renewable Energy
Context for why solar exists in the energy mix and how the industry developed.
- Where photovoltaics fits among renewable technologies
- The background an installer should be able to explain to a customer
Domain 2: Photovoltaics Terminology
The vocabulary of the trade. Misreading a term on an exam usually means misreading it on a plan set too.
- Component names across the array, wiring and balance-of-system equipment
- Electrical and system terms used consistently in installation work
Domain 3: Installation and Safety
The practical heart of the credential and the area that connects most directly to the hands-on demonstrations.
- Safe work practices around electrical and roof-mounted equipment
- Installation procedures and the reasoning behind them
Domain 4: Codes and Standards
The rules installations must satisfy.
- Familiarity with the electrical code framework that governs PV systems
- Be aware that the competency document mixes older code references, including NEC 2017, so no single current NEC edition is established as the exam standard
Domain 5: Theory of Operation
How a PV system converts light to usable electricity and how its parts interact.
- Cell, module and array behavior
- How system configuration affects output
Domain 6: Applied Calculations and Formulas
Where candidates most often need scratch paper and a calculator.
- Electrical relationships applied to real system layouts
- Working problems step by step rather than memorizing answers
Domain 7: Estimating Home Energy Needs
Translating a household's consumption into a sensible system size.
- Reading usage information and relating it to system capacity
- Understanding what drives a customer's requirements
Domain 8: Project Management
Organizing a job from start to finish.
- Planning, coordination and documentation tasks
- Note that one third-party comparison table claims Level 1 has no project management content, which contradicts ETA's own competency document
The Hands-On Half of Certification
Many people searching for this credential assume it is a single test. It is not. Certification combines the 75-question knowledge exam with hands-on skill demonstrations, and no separate numerical cut score for the practical portion has been verified. The competency document opens with an introductory hands-on task list that is not a ninth numbered domain; it describes the practical skills a candidate must demonstrate.
Per the current issuer page, you need hands-on training from an ETA-approved trainer or school. The competency PDF also says ETA may review proof of prior job experience in lieu of trainer-taught skills. That is a discretionary review by the issuer, not an automatic experience waiver, and an older Florida record describing a 12-month on-the-job route should not be treated as a current universal rule.
PVI1 is a stand-alone certification, so ETA's CETa (Certified Electronics Technician Associate) is not required first. No universal minimum number of training hours, degree, age or reference count has been verified from current issuer material. Partner courses advertise lengths such as 40, 45, 46 or 60 hours, but those are provider course lengths, not universal PVI1 requirements. Our PVI1 requirements guide goes through eligibility in more depth.
What It Costs and What Is Separate
The current issuer examination fee is $155. ETA publishes no member versus non-member split for the exam fee, and one free retake is available within one year of the first exam session. Everything else is a separate line item unless a particular provider bundles it.
| Item | Published Figure | Note |
|---|---|---|
| ETA exam fee | $155 | Issuer fee; one free retake within one year |
| Solar PV Training online course (Legacy) | $199 | Excludes hands-on lab and exam |
| eITprep study guide | $74.95 for six months on its own listing | ETA advertises $59.95; public price conflict unresolved |
| Eastern West Virginia program | $599 listed for 2025-2026 | Undated page; subject to change; an older flyer showed $400 adult tuition |
| ExamRoom.AI remote proctoring | $16 for a two-hour session | Only when remote testing is eligible; PVI1 eligibility not confirmed |
Two cautions apply. First, the provider prices above are not issuer-wide fees; a community college program and an online course are different products. Second, ETA advertises a $50 member discount on its Solar PV Training partner course, but that discount applies to the course, not to the exam. For the full breakdown, read the PVI1 certification cost guide.
PVI1 vs. PV2 and NABCEP PV Associate
Candidates often compare credentials before choosing one. Keep the identities straight, because each has its own body and rules.
- PVI1 (ETA International): Level 1 installer credential, stand-alone, with a knowledge exam plus hands-on demonstrations.
- PV2 (ETA International): A separate Photovoltaic Installer/Designer credential with its own requirements. Its prerequisites do not apply to PVI1.
- NABCEP PV Associate: A credential from a different organization. It is distinct from NABCEP's PV Installation Professional certification, and nothing about its syllabus or eligibility should be assumed to match PVI1.
The practical takeaway is that choosing between them depends on your employer's expectations, your state or local requirements and your training access, not on a claim that one is universally "better." Check what the employers you want to work for actually ask for.
Four-Year Term and Maintenance
PVI1 carries a four-year term, and maintenance is required to keep it active. ETA's Maintenance with Hands-On track, which is the track relevant here, requires:
- Six continuing-education hours per year (24 hours over the four-year term)
- A supervisor-signed Employer Verification Form
- A Certification Maintenance Form
- $25 per year ($100 over the four-year cycle)
Do not confuse this with the separate non-hands-on maintenance alternative, which uses different education and verification rules. The hands-on track is the one that applies to this credential.
Career Value and Salary Context
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2025 median pay for solar photovoltaic installers of $53,140 per year ($25.55 per hour). That figure describes the occupation as a whole. It is not a PVI1-specific earnings number, a starting wage or a measured premium for holding the certification, and no one should present it as proof of what a PVI1 holder will earn.
What the credential offers is documented, issuer-recognized evidence of baseline competence across safety, codes, theory, calculations, energy estimating and project management. Employers in residential and small commercial solar installation are the natural audience, and the certification can help distinguish a trained entry-level candidate from an untrained one. Whether it moves your pay depends on your local market and employer. For deeper analysis, see the PVI1 salary guide, the ROI analysis on whether PVI1 is worth it and our overview of PVI1 jobs.
Key Takeaway
Treat the BLS median as a baseline for the solar installer occupation, not a promise tied to the credential. Ask target employers directly whether they prefer, require or reimburse PVI1 before budgeting around any salary assumption.
A PVI1-Specific Prep Sequence
Because the domains are unweighted and the hands-on demonstrations come before the knowledge test, sequence your preparation around how the material builds. This is one sensible ordering, not an official plan.
Vocabulary and Foundations
- Domain 2 (terminology) and Domain 1 (background), since every later domain uses these terms
- Begin reading the eight-page ETA competency document
Theory, Safety and Installation
- Domain 5 (theory of operation) before Domain 3 (installation and safety), so procedures make sense
- Align with your approved trainer's hands-on sessions
Math, Codes and Planning
- Domain 6 (calculations) and Domain 7 (home energy needs) together, since sizing depends on both
- Domain 4 (codes) and Domain 8 (project management), noting the mixed code editions in the source document
Calculations deserve the most repetition, since they reward working problems on paper under a time limit. Remember the exam-day conditions ETA states generally: photo identification, scratch paper that may be surrendered afterward, a non-programmable or scientific calculator (programmable models may need to be reset), and no phones or other electronic devices. Open-book permission and a formula sheet for PVI1 are not verified.
For a fuller plan, see our PVI1 study guide, the one-page PVI1 cheat sheet and the difficulty guide. When you are ready to test your recall, try the PVI1 practice questions on our main site. Our practice items are original and aligned to the published competencies; they are not actual issuer exam questions or an official mock exam. For ongoing updates on scheduling, see PVI1 exam dates, and for a quick refresher on the credential itself, visit PVI1 Exam Prep.
Frequently Asked Questions
PVI1 stands for Photovoltaic Installer - Level 1, an entry-level solar installer certification issued by ETA International. It combines a 75-question knowledge exam with hands-on skill demonstrations.
The knowledge examination has 75 questions and a two-hour time limit, and the passing score is 75%. The hands-on skill demonstrations are separate and are not counted in the 75 questions.
The current issuer examination fee is $155, and one free retake is available within one year of the first exam session. Training courses, study guides and any lab fees are separate unless a provider bundles them.
Not on the basis of published information. Hands-on training from an ETA-approved trainer or school is required, and online self-study courses do not replace certification requirements. Remote proctoring eligibility for the PVI1 knowledge test should be confirmed with ETA.
The term is four years. The hands-on maintenance track requires six continuing-education hours per year, a supervisor-signed Employer Verification Form, a Certification Maintenance Form and $25 per year.